‘THE FAULT IN OUR STARS’ – JOURNEY TO AN INEVITABLE END

– JOHN GREEN

Genre: Romance, Young Adult Fiction

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-3.png

The author of Looking for Alaska, John Green can certainly make you cry with his heart-touching writing style. It didn’t take The Fault In Our Stars to get popular among the fans as it sold around 6 million copies in the first few months itself. The title of the book was inspired by Shakespeare’s play (Julius Caesar), where it mentioned, “The fault, is not in our stars,/ But in ourselves, that we are underlings.”

Both Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters knew that their end was inevitable; yet, they didn’t want to give up. This is what this book is all about- fighting for something you truly love and care.

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you.”

In one line

Hazel and Augustus – two cancer patients, embark their adventurous love story where they face numerous challenges but promise to remain together, no matter the outcome.

Also Read:

Looking For Alaska

Rich Dad Poor Dad

My thoughts

Reading this book was like riding a roller coaster ride- I poured out all my emotions. I was smiling one moment and before I knew, weeping the other.

I was absolutely devastated when I finished reading this book- only if I could have been a part of it and change the plot to make it less heartbreaking. While I have read several other similar books, this was the first book I shredded tears- just couldn’t resist it.

Although I found Hazel as a clever girl, she seemed to make a few irrational decisions along the way, but I mean who doesn’t? I loved how conservative she was with Augustus for an extended time period. She always feared that she might leave him a scar which can never be fixed.

“I’m a grenade and at some point, I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimize the casualties, okay?”

Recommendation

As a fan of love stories, The Fault In Our Stars was definitely worth a read for me. In fact, it remains one of my favorites in its category. So this book is a must-read if you are also into romantic novels like me.

P.S. – You would want to keep a tissue box with you while reading it- you might need it any time.

Read another review of this book:

Goodreads

So what do you think of this book review? Feel free to provide feedback so that I can provide you better content from next time.

Also if you liked it, please like & comment on this review, and subscribe for further updates.

8 thoughts on “‘THE FAULT IN OUR STARS’ – JOURNEY TO AN INEVITABLE END

  1. I never read The Fault in Our Stars but my oldest daughter has and she really enjoyed it. I like how you break down your content in your post and that you also include what others have said about the book too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.